Home Sounds Blues & Funk Khruangbin’s ‘Friday Morning’ Is A Commanding Instrumental Love Song

Khruangbin’s ‘Friday Morning’ Is A Commanding Instrumental Love Song

0

It’s hard not to be impressed when every song sounds like a love song.

On January 26th, the Thai funk-inspired, Texan-trio Khruangbin will be releasing their sophomore album, Con Todo El Mundo, and when every song sounds like a love song it’s hard not to be ridden with anticipation.

Khruangbin’s hymnal passages are a significant departure from what’s commonly presented in the indie rock realm, let alone the surf or garage rock realm. The band brings forth an exemplary array of artistry, which at times is all too buried in a seemingly monotonous genre. Bands can either bow out or standout, and it seems Khurangbin’s chosen the latter.

The act employs a uniquely-incorporated sound from Spain and the Middle East — particularly Iran — from the ’60’s, ’70’s, and beyond. Since the band dropped off their debut EP, A Calf Born In Winter,  in 2014, they’ve began to permeate the indie-rock dimension with their visceral singularity, landing on Bonobo‘s Late Night Tales compilation in 2013, and even went on to release a full-length album in 2015.

Ahead of the new record, Khurangbin’s dropped off a video for their new single, “Friday Morning,” which according to the trio is a song about “jumping into love.”

To little surprise, “Friday Morning” incorporates an imperturbable tempo. This type of groove has allowed numbers like “White Gloves” and “Mr. White” to see massive mainstream success, even earning the band a title-sequence feature in Netflix’s show Easy.

“‘Friday Morning’ is a love song, written and recorded at our remote farm in Burton, Texas where we got our start,” says the band.

“To commemorate the song, we asked our closest friends and family to record messages of love to each of us. The music video is a portrait of the band hearing these audio recordings for the first time, capturing on film the emotions one feels when they hear just how loved they are; a poignant and heartfelt expression in a time where, as a collective whole, we need to hear and express love more than ever.”

Khruangbin is set to embark on a massive tour of North America in support of Con Todo El Mundo this Spring.

Khruangbin Tour Dates:

Sat. Jan. 20 – London, UK @ KOKO
Sat. Feb. 3 – London, UK @ Rough Trade East
Sun. Feb. 4 – Glasgow, UK @ Centre for Contemporary Arts (CCA)
Mon. Feb. 5 – Manchester, UK @ RNCM Theatre
Tue. Feb. 6 – Bristol, UK @ Bierkeller
Thu. Feb. 8 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Fri. Feb. 9 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Feb. 10 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Mon. Feb. 12 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Tue. Feb. 13 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
Wed. Feb. 14 – Stockholm, SE @ HOSOI
Fri. Feb. 16 – Berlin, DE @ Festaal Kreuzberg
Sat. Feb. 17 – Munich, DE @ Strom
Sun. Feb. 18 – Cologne, DE @ Gebäude 9
Mon. Feb. 19 – Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Tue. Feb. 20 – Turin, IT @ Spazio 211
Thu. Feb. 22 – Barcelona, ES @ Sidecar
Fri. Feb. 23 – Madrid, ES @ Sirocco
Mon. Feb. 26 – Paris, FR @ Badaboum
Tue. Feb. 27 – Utrecht, NL @ Ekko
Wed. Feb. 28 – Rotterdam, NL @ BIRD
Fri. March 2 – Istanbul, TR @ Salon IKSV
Sun. March 4 – Dublin, IE @ Whelan’s
Thu. March 22 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Fri. March 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Sat. March 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Tue. March 27 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Thu. March 29 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Fri. March 30 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. March 31 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall Downstairs
Mon. April 2 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Tue. April 3 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Wed. April 4 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Thu. April 5 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Fri. April 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Rex Theater
Sat. April 7 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Thu. April 12 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. April 13 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sat. April 14 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Mon. April 16 – Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmont
Tue. April 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Mod Club
Wed. April 18 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Thu. April 19 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Fri. April 20 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. April 21 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Mon. April 23 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Thu. April 26 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. April 27 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
Sat. April 28 – Portland. OR @ Revolution Hall
Wed. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Fri. June 8 – Sun. June 10 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival

Read More:

Desert Daze Acts As Oasis Amidst Vapid Festival Climate

Ty Segall’s Latest Tune Is Totally Berserk, Listen To ‘Alta’ Now

 

Add to the story...

Grace Fleisher Former Managing Editor